Words of Honour



Everything’s come up pages and prizes for nominees of this year’s Atlantic Book Awards, to be handed out May 12 at Alderney Landing. Too many authors and Book Week events to list here (check them out at writers.ns.ca/bookfest08), but highlights include:Thomas Head Raddall Atlantic Fiction Prize: Don Hannah, Ragged Islands; Bernice Morgan, Cloud of Bone; David Adams Richards, The Lost Highway. Evelyn Richardson Prize for Non-fiction: Marq de Villiers, Witch in the Wind: The True Story of the Legendary Bluenose; Stewart Donovan, The Forgotten World of RJ MacSween: A Life; Steven Laffoley, Hunting Halifax: In Search of History, Mystery and Murder. Atlantic Poetry Prize: Don Domanski, All Our Wonder Unavenged, George Murray; The Rush to Here, Anne Simpson, Quick. Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction: Beatrice MacNeil, Where White Horses Gallop; Carol Bruneau, Glass Voices; David Doucette, North of Smokey. Margaret and John Savage First Book Award: Bob Mersereau, The Top 100 Canadian Albums; Stephanie Domet, Homing; Fred Armstrong, Happiness of Fish.

Add a comment

Remember, it's entirely possible to disagree without spiralling into a thread of negativity and personal attacks. We have the right to remove (and you have the right to report) any comments that go against our policy.