Congrats to all Atlantic Book Awards winners!

You wrote it, you won it


Kathleen Winter
  • Kathleen Winter
Check out the 2011 Atlantic Book Awards winners, if you see these folks, give them a hearty high-five: -Kathleen Winter took home the $20,000 Thomas Head Raddall Atlantic Fiction Prize for Annabel (House of Anansi Press)

-Alexander MacLeod won the prestigious Margaret and John Savage First Book Award for his collection of short stories, Light Lifting (Biblioasis)

-Johanna Skibsrud, winner of the 2010 Giller Prize, won this year’s Atlantic Independent Booksellers’ Choice Award for her first novel, The Sentimentalists (Gaspereau Press)

The 2011 Atlantic Poetry Prize went to John Steffler for Lookout (McClelland & Stewart)

-Rusty Bittermann received the Democracy 250 Atlantic Book Award for Historical Writing for Sailor’s Hope: The Life and Times of William Cooper, Agrarian Radical in an Age of Revolution (McGill-Queen’s University Press)

-The Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction, presented by Boyne Clarke, was awarded to Anne Emery for Children in the Morning (ECW Press).

-The Dartmouth Book Award for Non-fiction in Memory of Robbie Robertson, presented by the Kiwanis Club of Dartmouth was presented to Jerry Lockett for Captain James Cook in Atlantic Canada (Formac Publishing)

-The Evelyn Richardson Non-fiction Prize was awarded to Laura Penny for More Money than Brains (McClelland & Stewart)

-The Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature went to Valerie Sherrard for The Glory Wind (Fitzhenry & Whiteside)

-Budge Wilson accepted the Lillian Shepherd Memorial Award for Excellence in Illustration on behalf of Halifax artist Susan Tooke for The City Speaks in Drums, written by Shauntay Grant (Nimbus Publishing)

-Grow Organic by Elizabeth Peirce, published by Nimbus Publishing of Halifax, won $4,000 from the APMA Best Atlantic-Published Book Award, and runners up Outloud: Essays on Mental Illness, Stigma and Recovery, a collection of essays by various authors, published by Newfoundland’s Breakwater Books, and Kate Evans’s novel, Where Old Ghosts Meet, also published by Breakwater---are sponsored by Hignell Book Printing who bestow a $1,000 printing credit to each publisher and $250 to each author.

Two HRM illustrators were honoured this year with the Mayor’s Award for Excellence in Book Illustration. Ivan Murphy took home the $1,500 prize for Gadzooks: The Christmas Goose by Jennifer McGrath Kent (Nimbus Publishing) and Sidney Smith also received the prize for Mabel Murple by Sheree Fitch (Nimbus Publishing).

In sadder news, there was no recipient this year for the Mayor’s Award for Literary Achievement.

Eleanor Dawson, Director of Arts for Newfoundland & Labrador announced the 2012 Atlantic Book Awards will be held in St. John’s, Newfoundland.

Add a comment

Remember, it's entirely possible to disagree without spiralling into a thread of negativity and personal attacks. We have the right to remove (and you have the right to report) any comments that go against our policy.