Arts + Music » Music

Atoms for Peace



AMOK is the debut album by Atoms for Peace, a supergroup fronted by Thom Yorke, featuring producer Nigel Godrich, rap-rock pioneer Flea and others. The album’s sound will be familiar for anyone who’s followed Yorke’s career since Hail to the Thief, as it deals mostly in squiggly guitars, buzzing synths and busy percussion. From the sputtering swagger of “Default” to the raving blitz of “Dropped,” each track balances chilly instrumentation with warm grooves. Overall, these songs evoke a similar reaction to watching an NBA player go between his legs at a dunk contest: it’ll never stop being impressive, but you’ve definitely seen this kind of thing before.


Add a comment

Remember, it's entirely possible to disagree without spiralling into a thread of negativity and personal attacks. We have the right to remove (and you have the right to report) any comments that go against our policy.

xxx - Deprecated in favor of GTM, above.