Arts + Music » Music

Nova Scotia Music Week nominees announced

Get ready to rock and/or roll in Yarmouth for the annual regional music awards


Happy Birthday Rich Aucoin!
  • Happy Birthday Rich Aucoin!

The first round of nominees have been announced for Molson Canadian Nova Scotia Music Week, taking place in Yarmouth this year from November 5 to November 8. YEAH DOGGY. The NSMW Super Show closes it out on the Sunday night at the Mariners Centre. This year's top nominees include In-Flight Safety with six nominations, Christina Martin and Jenn Grant with five each, Alana Yorke + Mo Kenney + Gabrielle Papillon + Gypsophilia each clock in at four and Rich Aucoin has been named for six awards, too! It's also his birthday today!

Voting for the awards is now open to Music Nova Scotia Members (if you want to squad up, click here) and more nominees will be unveiled soon. The full schedule for the weekend will be available on September 22. Tickets then pop off on September 25. More info here!

In the Industry Awards category, we'd like to congratulate The Coast's Arts Editor Stephanie Johns (on mat leave) on the Media Professional the Year nomination; she's the only woman on a list of six people in this category, which makes total sense to me. 


A few of the awards and nominees for 2015 include: 

Web.Com Entertainer of the Year
- Ben Caplan
- Christina Martin 
- Gypsophilia
- Jenn Grant
- Joel Plaskett
- Rich Aucoin

Solo Recording of the Year
- "Dream Magic," Alana Yorke
- "It'll Be Alright," Christina Martin
- "The Tempest of Old," Gabrielle Papillon
- "Compostela," Jenn Grant
- "In My Dreams," Mo Kenney
- "Ephemeral," Rich Aucoin

Group Recording of the Year
- "Dreamsphere," Aqua Alta
- "Night Swimming," Gypsophilia
- "Hillsburn," Hillsburn
- "Conversationalist," In-Flight Safety
- "Silver Fang," Mardeen
- "Still Waking Up," Rain Over St. Ambrose

Music Video of the Year 
Presented by NSCC Burridge Campus
- "Santa Never Brings Me A Banjo" (Dir. Murray Bain), David Myles
- "Animals" (Dir. Drew Lightfoot), In-Flight Safety
- "Telephones" (Dir. Nathan Boey), Mo Kenney
-  "Clothes Off" (Dir. Jason Levangie), Ria Mae
- "Yelling in Sleep" (Dir. Joel Mackenzie), Rich Aucoin
- "Take on the World" (Dir. Dillon Garland), The Town Heroes

Alternative Recording of the Year
- "Dream Magic," Alana Yorke
- "Dreamsphere," Aqua Alta
- "Conversationalist," In-Flight Safety
- "Saturnalia Regalia!" Monomyth
- "Whine of the Mystic," Nap Eyes
- "Transition Roads," Ominar

African Nova Scotian Artist of the Year
- A'drian Scott
- Ced Marty & Dave
- Corey Writes
- Marcell Symonds
- RealEyez
- Reeny Smith

You can see the complete list of nominees right here. Mmm, fresh Yarmouth lobster. 


Showing 1-1 of 1


Add a comment

Remember, it's entirely possible to disagree without spiralling into a thread of negativity and personal attacks. We have the right to remove (and you have the right to report) any comments that go against our policy.

xxx - Deprecated in favor of GTM, above.