Arts + Music » Music

Rock, rap, industry snaps and more: ECMW awards abound

Joel Plaskett Emergency, Radio Radio among winners


Yippee for the JPE!
  • Yippee for the JPE!

You're probably watching the awards on TV right now, but let's cover ECMW on all possible platforms and take a look at who the big winners are as of this morning. Children's, classical, rock, hip-hop/rap, Francophone and world recording winners join the fold with this morning's updated list of champs.

Children’s Recording of the Year
La vie pour moi - Donna & Andy

Classical Composition of the Year
Between the Shore and the Ships - Derek Charke

Classical Recording of the Year
Between the Shore and the Ships - Derek Charke

Enregistrement francophone de l'année
Mōsaïk - Vishtèn

Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year
Havre de Grâce - Radio Radio

Rock Recording of the Year
Scrappy Happiness - Joel Plaskett Emergency

World Recording of the Year
Constellation - Gypsophilia

At Saturday's Industry Brunch, music industry and media peeps got their propers. The complete list of winners and recipients is:

Graphic/Media Artist of the Year - Jud Haynes
Live Sound Engineer of the Year - David Hillier
Management/Manager of the Year - Louis Thomas
Media Outlet of the Year - CBC Mainstreet Nova Scotia
Media Person of the Year - Jimmie Inch
Music Merchant of the Year - Fred’s Records
Studio Engineer of the Year - Jamie Foulds
Studio of the Year - Lakewind Sound Studios
Venue of the Year - The Carleton Music Bar & Grill
Producer of the Year - Daniel Ledwell
Musician’s Achievement Award - Cathy Porter
Industry Builder Award - Glen Meisner
Stompin’ Tom Award - Claudine Theriault / Jon Matthews / Neil Bishop / Joe Peter MacLean
Volunteer of the Year - Jim Power
Event of the Year - Halifax Pop Explosion

Twelve surprise 25th Anniversary Awards were also given to recognized individuals who have consistently contributed to the East Coast Music Association over the past 25 years. They are:

Sheri Jones
Peter Hendrickson
Louis Thomas
Shelley Nordstrom
Mike Campbell
Andree Gracie
Max MacDonald
Brookes Diamond
Geoff D'Eon
Bob Mersereau
Bruce Morel
Glen Tilley

Add a comment

Remember, it's entirely possible to disagree without spiralling into a thread of negativity and personal attacks. We have the right to remove (and you have the right to report) any comments that go against our policy.

xxx - Deprecated in favor of GTM, above.